So it is done.

No, no…. time has not sped up and the Country Music Half Marathon is over… in some Christmas Day type miracle. I actually paid for my entry.

Man, I guess I really am going to have to go through with this thing. Really, I am looking forward to the challenge that is ahead of me. This is just so far out of my “normal” comfort zone that I keep referring to it in terms of “if I do this,” “if I start running.” Don’t get me wrong, I am not going to back out. Just my own sort of self-defense mechanism….. on some wierd mental level…..

I did add to my collection of synthetic based clothing today. I received a tech shirt and a pair of running pants from my lovely wife. Also, a watch so that I can try to start timing my run/walk times. As I told her earlier, and will do so to the world now, her support in this undertaking means more to me than she can possibly understand. When I need to put the beer down, and shake off my high school “band geek” status she is there. Thanks Joy.

Oh, and just so that we don’t shatter any of the beer addiction rumors about met, she also got me a subscription to a beer of the month club….. Can I pick a woman, or can I pick a woman! I gotta get those carbs somewhere, right?

Anyway, Merry Christmas to all. I hope everyone has as wonderful a one with their families as I am having (and will continue to have as I travel home to Pennsylvania tomorrow). I look forward to reporting back, and getting things officially underway with the Fleet Feet training group starting on January 9th, 2010. Then the real pain…errrr fun begins.  😉

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Published in: on December 25, 2009 at 5:37 PM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jbraas.wordpress.com/2009/12/25/so-it-is-done/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Put together the best upbeat playlist you can muster… and get a tiny ipod shuffle.

  2. Stock up on band-aids too… If you’re like me, you’ll need ’em. Clothing chafes. Trust me.

  3. Dude,
    I am just so freaking impressed with you right now! First you are an excellent writer. I think I peed a little in my pants when I read this. Second, I think what you are doing is so cool. Third, it is evident to me and everyone who reads this that you truly love my best friend. I couldn’t ask for more for her…. Go get’em Jackson!

    Melissa

    • Thanks Miss!


Leave a Reply

