“Stadiums are for spectators. We runners have nature and that is much better.”

That headline up there is a quote from Juha Vaatainen. Other than that he/she has a name which I have no idea how to pronounce, I have no idea who that is. Sorry Juha, I just didn’t take the time to Google you yet…..

Now after running in 18 degree weather and snow flurries last week, I may have questioned the statement that “nature is better.” More like old Mother Nature had a cruel sense of humor as I went on my first “long” group run. Long to me anyway, at that time – 4 miles. We can improve on that. But I am getting a little ahead of myself.

Todays group run did much more to help me appreciate that quote. At 39 degrees and no snow (what a difference a week can make) it was still chilly, but much nicer. And the route was very nice as well. Some trails near Ravenwood High School, for those of you familiar with the Brentwood, TN area.

As I ran/walked the course I again found myself doing much better than I would have expected. I realized this once again through the help and encouragement of  wonderful group of people. I also let my mind drift as I admired some of the houses we were passing behind. You know the kind…. so big you can’t help but wonder “What the heck do you do for a living? And why didn’t my guidance counselor tell me about that career path?????”

So here I sit, typing with tired legs (not actually typing with my legs silly, if I could do that I might be famous and living in one of those houses) and ankles that are a bit stiff – but with no pain. I realize once again, I just did 5 miles this morning! It can truly be amazing ones ability to do something you never thought you could, with a little determination to get it done and a bunch of support from family and friends both old and new.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t give a nod to the Tin Roof 2 running crew.  I may have mentioned before, this is the group that starts and ends a weekly run at a bar. My kind of people. I may also have mentioned before, I happen to  have a fondness for a little malt and hops in liquid form. I know, a shocker to those who have known me for some time. Some of those folks amazed me with their ability to run some distance and then end with shots.

Seriously though, another great group and a bunch of friendly people. I may just have to get there again this week. And not just for the beer and  quesadilla specials. Although it is a nice perk, I do admit.

So onward and upward once again my friends. Get out of your stadium and into nature, in whatever form that may take for you. Can I suggest a running group?

Published in: on January 16, 2010 at 11:04 AM  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jbraas.wordpress.com/2010/01/16/stadiums-are-for-spectators-we-runners-have-nature-and-that-is-much-better/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It was a great Saturday morning for getting out of the stadium for a change of pace. I need a pair of gloves for sure!

  2. Outstanding work on the blog Jack! Wait until you see some of the houses we pass this weekend! I think we are running the loop near the store, I have no idea how those people keep the lights on. Have a good week!

    Joe


Leave a Reply

