Honey, feel my calves.

So ok, I didn’t really say that. But I did make my wife do it. Hold on, hold on nothing strange here. I am trying to keep the place to at least a PG-13 rating. It simply had to do with muscles.

Muscles that I am suddenly starting to realize I have! I know running is good for me and I had hoped that I would be getting in better shape, but this just sort of snuck up on me. Knock on wood, the majority of any pain (so far) is falling back, and I think my body is actually starting to adjust. Now don’t get me wrong. I don’t think I will be on the cover of the next Spring Hill Runners Digest, but here is some positive improvement. The couch muscles are slowly making their way into some sort of running muscles. Yeah me!

Running the past week has been pretty good. I was very nervous before last Saturday’s run – 10 miles. But I did it! And also got to see what I understand is the former home of Tennessee Titan Jevon Kearse (Or as I might call him, traitor. You’re not allowed to leave the Eagles….. Don’t tell him I said anything….. muscles aren’t that good….). Nice place he had.

On Monday I once again joined the Tin Roof 2 running group. And to my immense pleasure it was $5 Quesadilla night! Yeah!  We were able to get in a 3 mile run. A few folks were not feeling great, and some were resting a bit I think for the Tom King 1/2 Marathon in Murfreesboro this weekend (good luck everyone!).

This morning I was to run with my friend Joe. Well the alarm went off and the first thing I hear is the rain coming down. Now, do you remember that feeling when you were a kid and you would wake up to hear the radio saying school was canceled due to snow? Tennessee friends try to imagine, I know they would have canceled down here sometime the week before…. That feeling, I am sorry to say, is how I felt today. I wanted to run, but the fluffy goodness that is my pillow was calling me like a sea siren to a sailor of old. If I was a sailor, I would have been drowned by that damn fish (PG-13 ok?). And the rain gave me my excuse.

Luckily though later in the day the skies parted just enough to allow for a run. I got myself together and headed out. 6 miles, and quite a bit of hills as well. So ladies, try to contain yourselves. The calves will just keep getting better.

Published in: on March 11, 2010 at 8:50 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jbraas.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/honey-feel-my-calves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment